Saturday, March 28, 2009

ATP and WTA Awards go to.......

The numerous awards given to the top players, sportsmans and humanitarians on the ATP and WTA tours were given out on Wednesday. Roger Federer recieved the Stefan Edberg sportmanship award for the 5th consecutive year while he also was given the favorite player award, voted on by the fans, for the 6th straight year. Rafael Nadal received player of the year and Daniel Nestor and Nenad Zimonjic were awarded doubles team of the year. James Blake won the Arthur Ashe humanitarian award, Jo Wilfried Tsonga was chosn as most improved, Kei Nishikori won newcomer of the year and Rainer Schuettler got comeback player of the year. Serena Williams recieved player of the year honors, Dinara Safina was awarded most improved, Elena Dementieva was chosen for the sportsmanship award, Zheng Jie got comeback Player, Ana Ivanovic was recognized as humanitarian of the Year and Cara Black and Liezel Huber got doubles team of the year.

No comments: